Parisian Feast

food, France, Paris

The story of the best meal I had while in France

Before reading this, make sure to check out my explanation about why all of my meals were prearranged here. I also go into more detail about my time traveling with A.C.I.S.


The Best Meal I Had in France

Summer 2012

On our last day in Paris, we had a large chunk of unscheduled free time. It was wonderful to stroll down the streets seeing vendors selling their artwork, walking across love-locked bridges, and just generally admiring the beauty of Paris.

Antique books being sold by a vendor, somewhere in Paris

Antique books being sold by a vendor, somewhere in Paris

By the end of the trip, we were sick and tired of having all of our meals chosen for us. So for our final day, two of my friends and I decided to splurge on lunch. It was a fantastic decision.

We ended up going into the first cafe we saw, Cafe Panis, right outside of Notre Dame.

View of Notre Dame

View of Notre Dame

It was cozy, with views of the Cathedral right across the street. The waiter we had, whose name was Ben, was hilarious and joked that my two friends looked like “eh…justen beeba and eh kayti perí.” (That was my horrible attempt at writing words in a French accent. Oh well.)

Menu at Cafe Panis

Menu at Cafe Panis

I ordered a mushroom and basil pasta. I cannot emphasize enough how perfect it was after two weeks of pre-decided meals. I’m sure that anything on that menu would have been perfection, but I am still very happy with my decision.

After our lunches, we of course had to order dessert.

Bon Apetit!

Bon Apetit!

We each ordered something different: Hazelnut Tiramisu, Creme Brûlée, and Chocolate Mouse. We dug into them so fast that by the time we remembered to take pictures it was too late.

Creme Brulee, Tiramisu, and Nutella Chocolate Mouse.

Creme Brulee, Tiramisu, and Nutella Chocolate Mouse.

I didn’t matter who ordered what, because we ate all three equally. Spoonful of tiramisu, spoonful of mousse, spoonful of creme brûlée. Just like that until they were all gone.

Each bite was better than the last, and I can’t tell you which one was my favorite. It was also very fun to share since it allowed us to try more than one dish.

Not only was this my favorite meal in Spain or France, but it is also in my top favorite moments of the trip.

Leave a comment/question/suggestion